NLL Returns to Philadelphia


NLL Returns to Philadelphia

Second Expansion Team for 2019

The National Lacrosse League will add a team in Philadelphia for the 2019 season.

The Philadelphia squad will be owned by Comcast Spectacor and play in the company-owned Wells Fargo Center, sharing the arena with the Philadelphia Flyers (NHL), Philadelphia 76ers (NBA), and Philadelphia Soul (AFL). They will be the fourth team in the league to share ownership with an NHL team. The team name and logo will be announced at a later time.

It will be the first indoor lacrosse team in Philadelphia since the Wings relocated to Connecticut as the New England Black Wolves in 2014. The Wings were a founding member of the NLL, then called the Eagle Pro Box Lacrosse League. They won six indoor lacrosse titles before moving, the last in 2001.

NLL commissioner Nick Sakiewicz had previously stated a desire for the league to expand, with a Philadelphia club a priority. Combined with the San Diego expansion team, the NLL will field 11 teams in the 2019 season. It will be the most teams in the league since the 2010 season.

No Replies to "NLL Returns to Philadelphia"