Swarm Are NLL Champions


Swarm Win NLL Championship

Rush Swept in Two Games

The Georgia Swarm are 2017 National Lacrosse League champions, defeating the Saskatchewan Rush in a two-game sweep.

The Swarm took Game 1 18-14 with the help of Jordan Hall’s five goals and three assists. Game 2, however, was much closer. After taking an early 3-0 lead, the Rush worked their way back to take a one-goal deficit into halftime. The second half was a close affair, with neither team holding a lead of more than one goal during the entire half. A goal with just over a minute remaining in the fourth quarter gave the Rush the edge to force Game 3.

But the Swarm weren’t finished, scoring the game-tying goal and forcing overtime with just two seconds left on the clock. Less than two minutes into overtime, the Swarm scored and sealed the championship.

The title is the first for the Swarm since it was founded in 2005 as the Minnesota Swarm. It also denies the Rush’s attempt at a three-peat.


No Replies to "Swarm Are NLL Champions"